RAIDAH Shah Idil on what it’s really like to wear a hijab?

Standard

A great article by Raidah Shah Idil on September 28, 2012 gives her version of what it’s really like to wear a hijab.  This is her story and for others the story might be vastly different.

Raidah Shah Idil

“I wear a hijab (headscarf) so when I’m in the public eye, I am unmistakably Muslim. If you look at me, you’ll also see that I’m some garden variety of Asian. If you talk to me, you’ll see how much I love fantasy novels.

I remember officially putting on the hijab when I was 13. Like many Muslim kids, I had been prepped for it by my parents and religious teachers for a few years beforehand. I was taught that once puberty hits, all the rules I had been practising start to apply. My new dress code came into play alongside my five daily prayers and fasting in the month of Ramadan. When I was younger, I remember playing soccer with my cousin and brothers in a t-shirt, jeans, and a small headscarf. I figured that was akin to training wheels. Once I made the decision to wear the hijab proper, I upgraded to long-sleeved jackets or blouses. I took my decision with the determination of a girl on the cusp of womanhood, and the only pang of disappointment I remember was about the loss of my Sunday morning swimming classes. With the invention of the fabulous Ahiida burqini, swimming is now another fun past-time.”  read more

REFERENCES

The Daily Life Website – http://www.dailylife.com.au/life-and-love/real-life/what-its-really-like-to-wear-a-hijab-20120927-26n45.html

Have your say

